[iOS] Tools.framework modifications

Hi,

I want to change the tools.framework so that when I tap a annotation, the menu show to the screen to edit it has another design (prints at the top of the screen).

I successfully added the PDFNet.framework and Tools.framework as dynamic dependencies to my project and did some test.
As they are dynamic libraires, I can’t change the code from here.

I am new to iOS environment and want to have some clues about how to proceed:

Do I have to do my modifications in the Tools project, then build it up and put it in my project to test it,
or do I have to add the whole Tools source project into mine in order to change it and run it directly ?

I tried to put all the sources in my project but encountered some dependency problems when using it.
Can somebody provide me a simple step by step procedure (about target denpendencies and all) of how to add modifications to the Tools sources and put it in an iOS project with XCode please ?

Thanks you very much and sorry for the poor english. It is not my native language.

Hello Bruno,

Thank you for your interest in our SDK, and sorry for the delay in a reply.

Yes, all of the source code for the tools are provided, so that you have full control over the UI/UX. You can get any behaviour you want. We do include some API for basic/common tasks, but generally, if you want to make changes to the UI, then you will modify/extend the Tools code, and build it as part of your project.

This guide should answer all your questions about building.
https://blog.pdftron.com/2016/11/14/getting-started-with-pdfnet-for-ios/

In particular Part 2.

To best assist you further, it would be great to know more about your project.
Why is PDF annotating on iOS important for you?
Is this a new feature, or are you looking to replace an existing solution?

If you prefer to discuss privately, please feel free to email support at pdftron.com.

I’m facing the same problem.